Technology and Research Committee


Chairs and co-chairs

The Technology and Research Committee (TRC) has one chair and two co-chairs, who serve up for a period of 2 years. They are voted by the TRC core members and proposed to the REHVA Board who has the right to appoint standing committee chairs.

Read here their roles and responsibilities within the TRC.

Chair 2018-2020


Jarek Kurnitski, Prof. Dr.-Ing. 
REHVA Vice-President
Tallinn University of Technology, Tallin
Aalto-University, Espoo

Co-chairs 2018-2020
Lars Gunnarsen, Prof. Dr.

Danish Building Research Institute, Aalborg University, Copenhagen

Livio Mazzarella, Prof. Dr.-Ing.
Politecnico di Milano, Milano

Tiziana Buso, Dr.

REHVA Project Officer



TRC has core members with voting right and corresponding members without voting rights. TRC core members who haven’t attended a meeting for a year will be automatically moved to the list of the corresponding members. 

Core Members

  • Jarek Kurnitski (Estonia) - Chair
  • Lars Gunnarsen (Denmark) - Co-chair
  • Livio Mazzarella (Italy) - Co-chair
  • Francis Allard (France)
  • Ahmet Arisoy (Turkey) 
  • Hans Besselink (The Netherlands)
  • Anatolijs Borodinecs (Latvia)
  • Murat Cakan (Turkey)
  • Guangyu Cao (Norway)
  • Hywel Davies (United Kingdom)
  • Ioan S. Dobosi (Romania)
  • Christian Feldmann (France)
  • Serafin Grana (Portugal)
  • Jaap Hogeling (The Netherlands)
  • Frank Hovorka (France)
  • Karel Kabele (Czech Republic)
  • Ian Knight (United Kingdom)
  • Risto Kosonen (Finland)
  • Michal Krajčík (Slovakia)
  • Catalin Lungu (Romania)
  • Zoltan Magyar (Hungary)
  • Ivo Martinac (Sweden)
  • Gabrielle Masy (Belgium)
  • Pedro Vicente Quiles (Spain)
  • Jorma Railio (Finland) 
  • Olli Seppanen (Finland)
  • Igor Sikonczyk (Eurovent Association)
  • Martin Thalfeldt (Estonia)
  • Branislav Todorovic (Serbia)
  • Ongun Berk Kazancı (Denmark)

Corresponding Members

  • Miimu Airaksinen (Finland)
  • Bratislav Blagojevic (Serbia)
  • Azte Boerstra (Netherlands)
  • Anna Bogdan (Poland)
  • Marianna Brodatch (Russia)
  • Vincenc Butala (Slovenia)
  • Iolanda Colda (Romania)
  • Stefano P. Corgnati (Italy)
  • Egils Dzelzitis (Latvia)
  • Thor Jostein Egeland (Norway)
  • Manuel Gameiro da Silva (Portugal)
  • Nese Ganic (Turkey)
  • Tiit Kerem (Estonia)
  • Jean Lebrun (Belgium)
  • Dusan Petras (Slovakia)
  • Michael Schmidt (Germany)
  • Teet Tark (Estonia)
  • Gratiela Tarlea (Romania)
  • Juan Travesí (Spain)
  • Mika Voulle (Finland)
  • Edit Barna (Hungary)
  • Balázs András-Tövissi (Hungary)


The TRC has two face-to-face meetings per year:

  • one in spring during the REHVA Annual Meeting,
  • one in fall linked to the REHVA Brussels Summit. 

Additionally, TRC has at least two web meetings for the whole committee so that the meeting interval is not longer than three months. Both core and corresponding members are invited to these meetings, and core members must attend at least one meeting per year to keep their position in the TRC.

Agendas and minutes of each TRC meeting are stored in the restricted area of the REHVA website dedicated to the TRC and are sent to all the TRC members and meeting participants by the TRC secretariat. 

Working Environment

The objective of the TRC is to develop and disseminate technical information
for the benefit of REHVA members and supporters, to enhance the development of standards, to promote research in the related fields at European level, and to increase the visibility of REHVA in Europe through EU projects and through EU public affairs and political advocacy. TRC cooperates in technical issues with REHVA members and supporters, as well as European and international organizations with similar objectives as REHVA. Such organisations are CEN, EUROVENT, EVIA, ISIAQ and others.

The activities to achieve these objectives include among others:

  • Development and follow-up of the work at REHVA Task Forces,
  • Development of common working groups with co-operating organizations, 
  • Organization of technical seminars and workshops, 
  • Development of technical publications like guidebooks and reports,
  • Participation in EU projects, dissemination of project results among members,
  • Exchange of technical information through articles in REHVA journal, newsletter and website,
  • Establishment of expert networks and data bases within REHVA,
  • Following up the work and preparing position papers (statements) on EU policies and standardization work.

REHVA Task Forces

A REHVA Task Force (TF) consists of a group of HVAC and building experts who volunteer to collect/generate knowledge to support and update HVAC professionals on a well-defined topic. The work of a Task Force results in REHVA technical publications, such as REHVA European Guidebooks and Reports. 

TRC members as well as external experts are welcome to present their proposals of new Task Forces and guidebook topics during TRC meetings. Upon TRC approval, a Task Force can start the actual development of the Task Force work plan and has to regularly report about the ongoing work to the TRC according to the REHVA Task Force guidelines. 

Download here the full REHVA Task Force guidelines.