Today, the President-elect Ursula von der Leyen announced the distribution on new portfolios and presented the structural work of the next European Commission. During her speech, she pointed out that this new Commission will foster Europe to become the world's first climate-neutral continent and to be a front-runner of energy transition and sustainable policies.

The new Commission will consist of eight Vice-Presidents together with the High-Representative of the Union for Foreign Policy and Security Policy. Next to the leading President Ursula von der Leyen, there will be three (Executive) Vice-Presidents that will be responsible for one of the three core agendas of President-elect programme and for the Commissioners. Therefore, Executive Vice President Frans Timmermans (Netherlands) will coordinate a work of the proposed European Green deal and manage climate action, supported by the Directorate-General for Climate Action. Margrethe Vestager (Denmark) will be responsible for agenda of Digital era for Europe and holding portfolio as a Commissioner for Competition, supported by the Directorate-General for Competition. Valdis Dombrovskis (Latvia) will coordinate the work of financial services as a Commissioner (with a special focus on “Economy that works for people”) in cooperation with Directorate-General for Financial Stability, Financial services and Capital Markets Union.

The Commissioners are the centre of the structure of the new College and will coordinate and lead their portfolios with the expertise provided by the Directorates-General. Kadri Simson (Estonia) will be leading the ‘Energy' portfolio. She is a long-serving member of the Estonian parliament and Minister for Economic Affairs and Infrastructure. Virginijus Sinkevičius (Lithuania), is Lithuanian Minister for Economy and Innovation and will be responsible for ‘Environment and Oceans'.

Check here to find the final list of the Commissioner per each portfolio.  

What comes next?

Once the entire College of Commissioners is confirmed by the European Parliament, including the President and the High-Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs ans Security Policy, the European Council formally appoints the European Commission.


Image reference: 

Other references: The von der Leyen Commission: for a Union that strives for more. 2019. Avaialbe at: 

Stay Informed

Follow us on social media accounts to stay up to date with REHVA actualities


0 product in cart.products in cart.